Twelve federal states stop initial admission of protection seekers

Sat 3rd Sep, 2022

Image by Gerd AltmannIn view of the high number of Ukraine refugees and asylum seekers from other states, twelve of 16 German states are currently blocking themselves from accepting further protection seekers, according to a media report. "Against the background of the high numbers of arrivals, twelve states have currently activated a block in the initial distribution system," a spokeswoman for the German Interior Ministry told the Editorial Network Germany (RND) newspapers on Saturday.

"The burden on the federal states results from the refugee situation from Ukraine and general migration," the spokeswoman continued, according to the report. "Thus, an increase in the number of detections on the Balkan route can also be observed at present."

Overall, the total number of people who have fled Ukraine for Germany since the start of the war is high at more than 980,000 - although recently only 875 have been added per day on average, the spokeswoman said. The ministry is aware that several federal states have expressed concern that they will soon reach their capacity limits.

However, temporary closures like now are "not unusual," the spokeswoman added. "In addition, distribution is still possible, as large countries continue to take in even currently."

Image by Gerd Altmann


German Engineering Jobs
Write a comment ...
Post comment